Nobel Prize 2008

This year’s Nobel Prize winners have been announced – here is a list of the winners in physics, chemistry, physiology/medicine, literature, peace, and economics; and a brief description of why they won.

The Nobel Prize for Physics was awarded to Yoichiro Nambu – “for the discovery of the mechanism of spontaneous broken symmetry in subatomic physics”

and to

Makoto Kobayashi and Toshihide Maskawa – “for the discovery of the origin of the broken symmetry which predicts the existence of at least three families of quarks in nature”

Read more about the Physics Prize

Osamu Shimomura, Martin Chalfie, and Roger Y. Tsien received the Nobel Prize for Chemistry – “for the discovery and development of the green fluorescent protein, GFP”

Read more about the Chemistry Prize

Physiology or Medicine
The Prize in Physiology/Medicine went to Harald zur Hausen “for his discovery of human papilloma viruses causing cervical cancer”

and to

Françoise Barré-Sinoussi and Luc Montagnier “for their discovery of human immunodeficiency virus”

Read more about the Physiology/Medicine Prize

Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clézio won the Nobel Prize in Literature as “author of new departures, poetic adventure and sensual ecstasy, explorer of a humanity beyond and below the reigning civilization”

Read more about the Literature Prize

Martti Ahtisaari received the Nobel Peace Prize “for his important efforts, on several continents and over more than three decades, to resolve international conflicts”

Read more about the Peace Prize

The Prize in Economics was awarded to Paul Krugman “for his analysis of trade patterns and location of economic activity”

Read more about the Economics Prize

Be sure to visit the Nobel Prize website for all this information and much, much more.