CBCA Book of the Year – 2017

The annual Children’s Book Council of Australia – CBCA Book of the Year Awards affirm the quality of some of Australia’s most creative people. The CBCA Book of the Year Awards aims to:

  • promote quality literature for young Australians
  • support and encourage a wide range of Australian writers and illustrators of children’s books
  • celebrate contributions to Australian children’s literature

Here are the 2017 winners and you will find most of these books in our library collection:

Book of the Year: Older Readers

Winner: One Would Think the Deep by Claire Zone


Book of the Year: Younger Readers

Winner: Rockhopping by Trace Balla


Book of the Year: Early Childhood

Winner: Go Home, Cheeky Animals by Joanna Bell


Picture Book of the Year

Winner: Home in the Rain by Bob Graham


The Eve Pownall Award for Information Books

Winner: Amazing Animals of Australia’s National Parks by Gina M Newton


  • A-Z of Endangered Animals by Jennifer Cossins
  • The Gigantic Book of Genes by Lorna Hendry

Crichton Award

Winner: The Patchwork Bike by Van T Rudd

Take a look at our Children Literature library guide for more comprehensive collections and resources on children’s literature. Or, if you are feeling creative you may even consider writing your own book, check out our Creative Writing library guide, too.